He’s kind of a big deal

I hate waiting in lines. It will go down eventually and unless there’s an item or event about to expire, I usually prefer to sit in a comfortable chair until only a few people are in the queue.

When I flew to Portland, Maine, it was like an alternate universe. The parking shuttle waited for me; I looked around suspiciously to make sure I was in the right airline because the check in was vacant; and there were TWO people before me in security. Two!

I found a seat at the gate and lingered even after my zone four companions and I were paged to board. Standing in line, juggling heavy, bulky carry on items is my idea hell.

As I walked the aisle to my seat near the back, I saw a familiar face in my row. I had never had a celebrity encounter before but there, sitting in the seat next to me, was Josh Blue from Last Comic Standing. I tried to play it cool, but playing it cool for me usually means acting really snobby and ignoring the other person. But then he tucked a picture of a baby boy in the corner of his tray table to try to make conversation. Who can resist a baby? Soulless people, that’s who. So I asked if the boy was his son and thus began our two hour conversation. He told me about playing in the Paralympics and being multilingual, I told him about milking cows.

If you see a Josh Blue show and he talks about a girl who talked about milk, let me know. I think I might have earned myself a spot in a comedy routine.

******************************************************************************************************************

I started this post a long time ago. Like so many bloggers right now, the beautiful August weather is zapping my creativity. However! I just won the I Spy contest hosted by the lovely Quirky at Quirky and Mr. Talented! That calls for a celebratory (and celebrity) post.

3 Comments »

  1. Jessica Said:

    Way to go you working yourself possibly into a comic routine. I’ll have to see how that turns out. I also hate waiting in lines and am also surprised when people wait for me. It’s like, what’s the problem?

  2. It’s a good thing you knew who he was… I haven’t watched that show lately and would never have know I was in the midst of a celebrity

  3. Quirky Said:

    Sweet! I hope he does work you into his act, and then I can be like, psshhh, I totally know that girl. Sort of.

    I think maybe most girls come across as snobby when they are trying to play it cool. I know that my hub thought I was a biotch for awhile, just because I was too shy to talk to him. Or maybe I am just a biotch :)

    P.S. I just emailed your prize! Let me know if for some reason it doesn’t get to you. I’ve never done an email gift card.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

