Of Ruined Lunches and Maxi Pads

I don’t shy away from expressing my unhappiness over unsatisfactory products or service. Just the other week I called the 800-number on the back of my Lean Cuisine Butternut Squash Ravioli when I carefully peeled open the cardboard flaps, removed the black plastic tray and discovered the clear plastic film was sliced open from end to end. Nothing ruins your day faster than having to throw away your much anticipated, very delicious frozen lunch. The kind folks at Lean Cuisine were gracious enough to profusely apologize and I received a couple of coupons for replacement meals, and bonus coupons for their panini sandwiches.

As much as I pride myself in my ability to fight for my right to quality merchandise, I bow before the greatness of Wendi Aarons. She deserves some type of award for best construction of an irritated-consumer letter.

“Last month, while in the throes of cramping so painful I wanted to reach inside my body and yank out my uterus, I opened an Always maxi pad, and there, printed on the adhesive backing, were these words: “Have a Happy Period.”

Are you f-ing kidding me?”

5 Comments »

  1. janet Said:

    I just tried the butternut squash ravs this week! I liked it, but I don’t think I could eat it every day. Awesome about the coupons though!

  2. those happy period commercials drive me nuts. i’d like to see meet the man who probably came up with that campaign. did you even CONSULT ANY WOMEN?! lol

  3. J P Said:

    @ Janet: I’m pretty psyched about the coupons! I also really like their Vegetable Egg Roll. The pickin’s are slim when you don’t eat meat!

    @ Michelle: Seriously. I know what they were trying to get at, but come on. Unless you can remove all the pain, grossness and general inconvenience, I doubt many women will have a happy period.

  4. Jamie Said:

    I’m totally feeling like I want to yank out my uterus currently. Happy period, be damned.

  5. J P Said:

    You poor thing! Write a letter to Always… it’ll probably make you feel better.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

