Big Girls Need to Shave, Too

On any given Sunday, I can stand between two glossy wooden pews, gripping my blue hymnal, and meet eyes with girls my age and younger. They grow ’em tall in my hometown, that’s for sure.

I found a delightful new blog today when Zoot linked to Angie. Her most recent post recalls a recent trip to the grocery store when a man made an awkward comment about her height, which made me think about all the awkward things that people have said to me over the years.

  • A cashier asked me and my youngest sister if we are sure we’re really related.
  • I’ve been working out for more than two years but people who I haven’t seen in a while are still getting used my my new physique. I’ve been asked many times how I lost the weight, and some people have come out and asked me if I had surgery.
  • During a banquet I attended for work, the farmer I was writing a story about asked if I was “you know” (complete with hand wiggle) because I didn’t (and don’t) have a boyfriend.
  • A friend’s boyfriend recommended a specific razor to shave my legs, because I’m a “big girl.”
  • I have naturally rosy cheeks. People don’t understand that and I’ve been told several times to lay off the blusher.

I’m sure there’s more but the part of my brain that allows me to hold on to some self esteem is blocking those memories right now.

What’s the most outrageous thing someone’s said to you?

6 Comments »

  1. Wow! Those are some pretty outrageous questions. I don’t have anything that good but one time my brother in law once asked if I’d had a boob job. (I haven’t)

  2. Mary Said:

    Hi. Well, firstly well done on taking care of your body. I’m 26 year old female. I was born with a condition that makes one side of my face look swollen. People often ask me if I am ill or make comments about how awful it must be to live with that condition. Boys have told me that its the one thing they would change about me. What little experience I’ve had in dating has always resulted in me being left for someone else. But I am successful and single and have the desire to travel. I may never meet Mr right or have friends to party with but I’m gonna live it up as much as I can. Because if I spend too much time hurting over what people see on the outside, I’m only damaging myself on the inside.

  3. Jamie Said:

    My cheeks are really red a lot too. I don’t use blush either. It drives me crazy sometimes!

  4. I’m another rosy cheeked girl–I remember going home from school one day crying because one of my friends told me I shouldn’t use so much blush and then wouldn’t believe me when I told her over and over again that I wasn’t wearing any makeup at all. I was a tad sensitive…

  5. cass Said:

    Those comments are so insane. I wonder if I know this farmer that made that comment…because I know a lot of farmers and I brought a friend of mine to some dinner that my dad was giving a talk at and a farmer asked me if “we were, you know…..to.get.her” to which I said “yeah, I totally did her last night”….his poor eyeballs popped right out of his head and started rolling around the floor like lost marbles.

    People never stop to amaze me.

  6. […] cause of our strife in passing and then it was laughed off. I also asked if she was still seeing that guy. No, they broke up a while ago, I forget why. Because he is a jerk? Well, yeah, but no one except […]


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

