Silly Rabbit (Ears)

In the year and a half that I’ve lived in Philadelphia, I’ve been subsisting on entertainment caught from the skies by a set of rabbit ears that lives above the moving picture box. I’ve saved roughly $900 and I don’t think I’ve missed too much by not having cable. (Although there was that funny moment at work why my coworkers were talking about a commercial they saw on some cable station and I chimed in, “That’s so funny! Wish I could have seen it but I DON’T HAVE CABLE!” Maybe you had to be there.) Internet makes watching cable programming easier, as does Netflix – and with Netflix there’s no waiting for next week or next season to wrap up those pesky cliffhangers.

I’m not usually one to be all down with big government, but this transition to digital TV seems to be very poorly executed. In case you’re living in blissful oblivion, you have until Feb. 17, 2009, to beg, borrow or steal a way to receive a digital signal if you don’t have cable. There’s a coupon for which you can apply to make a converter box affordable, you can buy a new digital-equipped TV or you can get cable.

My roommate hooked up a converter box on our living room TV this afternoon and while the picture is clearer and we get a few new digital channels, we no longer get ABC or MYPHL. NBC and CBS phase in and out of service. We can’t figure out how to get the channels to work. The Web site doesn’t really provide many answers, contrary to its name.

As it stands now, DTV sucks. Hopefully we’ll be able to figure this out by Feb. 17. Or maybe we just need to break down and get cable. I hear it has funny commercials.

5 Comments »

  1. Pocklock Said:

    Maybe for the best price deal you can get one of those package things and get cable, phone and internet for like $40 a month. If you split that between the two of you it’s as many as 4 Starbucks!

    (WHOA! I DID MATH!)

  2. Swistle Said:

    We got this thing called something like “network cable” (it has a real name but I can’t remember it) that lets us watch PBS and Fox and a couple other channels we can’t get at all even with rabbit ears. It’s like $12/month even just for that. But basic cable is like $60/month, so we stick with network (or whatever it’s called), and we get Netflix.

  3. Angela Said:

    Yeah, that really sucks that the converter box took away some standard channels. You’ve got practically a year, so homefully you’ll figure it out.

  4. Caitlin Said:

    Hii! Oh my gosh, I can totally relate. In the years after college I became famous among friends and family for not having cable, and watching tv on my circa-1972, 500 pound hand me down tv, complete with wood panelling and a pull-knob. And it only went up to channel 36.
    Aka?
    Teh Awesome.

    Let me know how you like the frozen grapes!!

  5. Caitlin Said:

    Oh noes! I tried to comment…but I don’t know if it came through. So let me summarize: For a long time I did without cable, and even had a hand-me-down tv with wood paneling and a pull knob. I am right there with you!

    Have you tried the frozen grapes??


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

