Weekend Wrap Up: Fighting Back Tears Edition

  • When Matt Lauer’s voice broke at the bottom of the 9 a.m. hour of a special edition of Saturday Today, tears sprung to my eyes. So long, Tim Russert. Hope you’re surrounded by the Bills and white boards in Heaven.
  • P.S. I Love You. Those letters! That accent! Those shoes! Oh my stars! Do guys like Gerry actually exist? Future blog about Cecelia Ahern to come because she is amazing.
  • I opened the door and my nephew rushed into my arms. I scooped him up and gave him a big hug. I pull back and look at his face when he leans in and touches his lips to mine, the first unsolicited kiss made my eyes cloud over. He claps when you say, “Good job, Dylan!” He reaches for the stars when you ask, “How big?” He has my heart.
  • Then there were the many moments Saturday and Sunday spent agonizing over the state of my sister’s life. She walked out on her husband, her house, her job and has set up house with a new guy, in a new city with no income and rent and car payments to make. She’s too germaphobic to walk barefoot in a gas station bathroom, but she’s only a public head shaving away from going completely the way of Britany Spears and I don’t know how to stop the downward spiral. Her life is a web of lies but in her mind everyone else is at fault. She’s fine, she says. She’s not crazy. She doesn’t need help. What can I do?
1 Comment »

  1. Caitlin Said:

    Oh, Pom. I was a wreck over Tim Russert, too. I keep hearing about P.S. I Love You — I think I really need to go rent it now. And thank you so much for the shoe comment! I just got the best deal on them, and they’re really pretty comfy!

    I’m so sorry to hear about your sister. Reading this immediately reminded me of one of my own family members, and I know how hard it is. Just know that you haven’t done anything wrong: There’s truly nothing you can do to help a person who can’t help or take responsibility for themselves. But with that said, it’s the hardest thing in the world to sit by and watch your loved one go flying by on a train that’s about to crash, and just sit and watch it happen.

    Hang in there. Chin up, elbows out.
    xoxo


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

